The Simple Woman’s Daybook May 10, 2016

For Today

I am joining Peggy and friends to share my daybook.  Hope you will jump over and see what it’s all about.  You can go here to get the guidelines for posting a daybook.
simple-woman-daybook-large
Looking out my window…I see cloudy skies and rain.  Looks like it’s going to hang on for some time.  The green of the trees sharply contrasting against the grey skies.
I am thinking…of all the things I could do if I did not have to go to work today.  Being off yesterday has made me rather lazy I think.

I am thankful…that our warehouse shut down yesterday for some maintenance and I didn’t have to go to work!

One of my favorite things…having a day to myself.

 I am wearing…blue jeans, yellow and white striped top with Keds tennis shoes.
I am creating…a new scarf!  Yes, I have finally picked up the needles again.  I was really discouraged when I “slammed” them down.  So I thought I would cast on a simple project to start.  One that doesn’t take too much brain power.  However, right after I changed colors, I got my knits and Purls off!  But fixed it and now things are going smooth.  I’ll share it tomorrow…
I am reading (read) /watching (watched) / listening to… I have three things going on…I am reading two books and listening to another.
2175
On my Kindle for Classics Club Challenge (Goodness this is a hard one to stay into.  It’s rather boring right now.)
2
In Hardback form also for my Classics Club Challenge (Can these books get any bigger?!  They take me forever and the library thinks I’ve stolen them each time!)
17888952
Listening to this one and it so refreshing after listening to the one below.  I’ll get around to reviewing it soon.
43641
(Ummm, it’s rather graphic. I understand that it’s life but sometimes it was very shocking!)
14287140
I am taking this ONE chapter a week.  I will be reading/pondering it for a year!   I’m sure that is how the author intended it to be.
I will be reviewing these books soon someday.
I am hoping…that when I get my reading challenges complete I will be able to pick up my knitting again.  I really miss it!  In fact, I may just get me an audio book and a simple project like a scarf to work on.
I am learning…to use WordPress.  I blogged here a long time ago but it has changed a lot.  I also have blogged here… but I am backing away from that blog.
In my kitchen…I have always shared our weekly menu here and I think I will continue as it helps to keep me organized and my grocery bill in check.
Monday – Southwest Chicken bake (new recipe which was a big hit)
Tuesday – Breakfast casserole
Wednesday – Cheeseburgers and fries
Thursday – Lasagna and broccoli
Friday – Lefftovers
Saturday – Pizza
Sunday – grilling meat and veggies today!
Around the homestead (in place of the school room)… I did not home school so I share about our farm here
 IMAG0401
In my garden…I am not putting out a vegetable garden this year but I do have a flower bed and some potted plants this year.
Post Script…I thought this was a great post by Barbara at Stray Thoughts!  Check it out, makes so much sense!
Shared Quote…”yes, but he’s got the faith of a child – simple.” Franklin the Angel (It’s a Wonderful Life)
A moment from my day
IMAG0398
The restaurant Hubby took me to on Saturday night for Mother’s Day.  So elegant!

Closing Notes: I really hope that if you don’t already join Peggy that you will give it a shot.  You don’t have to join every week.  Maybe once a month is all you can do.  I don’t always make it but I enjoy it.
4 thoughts on “The Simple Woman’s Daybook May 10, 2016

  1. jerralea says:

    Yes! A day to myself! Those are so precious, I hardly ever get one, but I do enjoy them immensely when I do.

    Hey, I’m curious about the Southwest Chicken Bake recipe. Care to share?

    The master bedroom SHOULD be a sanctuary – well, everyone’s bedroom should be. We need a serene place to recharge our batteries, so to speak.

    I’m shocked you’re not having a vegetable garden this year because I thought you loved doing that, but oh! the work! I bet it will simplify life a lot for you.

    Have a great week – although I fear our part of the world is going to be rainy …

    Like

  2. Glad you got an unexpected day off! Even though I am at home, sometimes I wish I had a day without everyday responsibilities so I could get some other projects done.

    Thanks for the link!

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

