The Simple Woman’s Daybook May 17, 2016

For Today

I am joining Peggy and friends to share my daybook.  Hope you will jump over and see what it’s all about.  You can go here to get the guidelines for posting a daybook.

simple-woman-daybook-large

Looking out my window...
IMAG0433
Looking across the hay field up by the barn.  Sunday was beautiful  even if it was a tad chilly.  This morning it is still raining and has    turned cold.

I am thinking... That farm life is getting harder the older I get

I am thankful...this time that I have with Grandma.  Even though   each day is hard, and seem to be getting harder, I wouldn't have her anywhere else.

One of my favorite things...quiet mornings.

I am wearing...blue jeans, black hoodie, and black and white Nike   tennis shoes.

I am creating...that scarf that I was working on last week.

I am reading (read) /watching (watched) / listening to....

2175

On my Kindle for Classics Club Challenge {{sigh}} I might get it done this month.  I made some progress this past week.
2
In Hardback form also for my Classics Club Challenge.  Making progress but still quite a way to go.
17888952
Still listening to this one while I knit and/or drive.

14287140

I am taking this ONE chapter a week.  I am sitting in chapter two      this week.

I am hoping...that hubby and I can go out and see my sister in       Utah someday soon!

I am learning...that there are some people you can never please.

 In my kitchen...
Monday - meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and green beans.
Tuesday - Chili (I know! One more time)
Wednesday -Breakfast
Thursday - Chicken & Broccoli Alfredo
Friday - leftovers
Saturday - Pizza (every Saturday)
Sunday - BBQ pork steaks and brats!!!

Around the homestead (in place of the school room)...Taking three bred cows to the sale barn today.  They did not calve within    our time frame (we want to be calved out by first of May), so they     have to go.  We may buy three cows that are open that we can just   put in with our new bull to replace the three sold.

IMAG0430

 In my garden...I wanted to get my flower beds planted with some  annuals this past weekend but it did not happen.  Maybe this           coming weekend if it is warmer and not raining.

Post Script...Are you Happy?

 Shared Quote...
best-quotes-about-life-and-love-650x406

A moment from my day
IMAG0409
Some days I feel just like this!

Closing Notes:  It was a very active week last week.  I am trying to put the breaks on this week.  Remember, I'm trying to slow down     and enjoy the scenery! God has given us a beautiful place and I'm     just blazing around in it not taking time to "see" anything. 🙂  Hope   you have a wonderful week wherever you are.
2 thoughts on “The Simple Woman’s Daybook May 17, 2016

  1. I always enjoy your Daybook posts…smiles…and yes, farming is not a easy thing to do. Have a beautiful week and raining here too–even though my weather gadget on my blog said otherwise, lol..

    Like

  2. It has been deliciously cool here the past few days. I’m treasuring them up before the heat hits later on.

    I don’t know if I’d be able to do the physical farm work! I can imagine it would seem harder the older we get.

    It’s hard sometimes to find the balance between getting necessary things done and taking time to enjoy the scenery along the way. There always seems to be way too much to do. Hope you get some of those “enjoy the scenery” moments along the way this week.

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

