The Simple Woman’s Daybook May 24, 2016

For Today

I am joining Peggy and friends to share my daybook.  Hope you will jump over and see what it’s all about.  You can go here to get the guidelines for posting a daybook.

simple-woman-daybook-large

Looking out my window…It’s a warm overcast morning.  There isn’t much of a breeze.  There is a possibility of rain today.  I hope it get’s it over with before the weekend.

I am thinking…that we only have one more year left with our son.  If things go as planned for him he will leave for the Air Force or some branch of the military next summer.

I am thankful…for the gym. It helps me to “de-stress”.

One of my favorite things…fresh manicure and pedicure.

I am wearing…blue jeans, safety orange t-shirt, orange and white nikes.  (it’s safety week at work)

I am creating…travel plans for Memorial weekend. Oh please don’t rain, please don’t rain!

I am reading (read) /watching (watched) / listening to….

2175 On my Kindle for Classics Club Challenge.  I can only get a few pages in at a time.  I am more focused on getting HP finished!2 In Hardback form also for my Classics Club Challenge.  The library let me keep it an extra two weeks.  I am getting through it because it is my main focus. I’ve got about 100 pages left to go.14287140 I decided to move through this two chapters a week. They are really small chapters and each has a simple life lesson.

I am hoping…that everything goes well while hubby and I are away next weekend.  It very rarely does 😦

I am learning…a lot about the military.  Trying to help our son figure out what branch he wants to go into.

In my kitchen

Monday – Kilbasa with kraut, fried potatoes, and baked beans

Tuesday – BBQ pork steaks & Brats with sweet potatoes and green beans

Wednesday – Tuna noodle casserole

Thursday – Cheeseburgers and Fries

Friday – Beef roast, potatoes and carrots

Saturday – Leftovers

Sunday – Pizza

Around the homestead (in place of the school room)…this week will be our son’s first week out of school.  We are putting him to work! 🙂  The yard work will keep him busy enough this summer.  We also have fence that needs sprayed.  When we get back from our trip it will be time to get the hay equipment out and ready to bale hay.  Praying the weather cooperates and we can get it done.

In my garden…WHAT garden!?  I have yet to get any flowers planted in my beds!  I thought about doing it on Sunday but I was too tired. I just wanted to lay around

IMAG0437

The garden beds are still a mess from last year.

Post Script…I haven’t had much time this week to get around to read much but with Father’s day coming up I thought you might enjoy this Place

Shared Quote…”Strange isn’t it?   Each man’s life touches so many other lives, and when he isn’t around he leaves an awful hole, doesn’t he?” – Clarence

A moment from my day Closing Notes:  I will be leaving Saturday morning on a trip, weather permitting.  Not returning until Monday afternoon.  I won’t be around for the Sunday Salon but I’m sure Linda and Melanie will be around!

3 thoughts on “The Simple Woman’s Daybook May 24, 2016

  1. Yep, I think its safe to say we will be around, lol. Too broke and too poor to do anything…funny, Monica, we had the same conversation with our son, now that the doctor has released him he is trying to decide what to do. My husband said now is not a good time to go in any branch, not with the current people in office and to wait until Nov-Jan. and pray that Hillary is not the president as that is the same that is in office now (anti military). Sad to say…but our military is overworked, depleted, and so on (and with no backing with leadership). My bil retired from the Army and now works for the military/government—it is a sad shape that our current office has left us in…just sad…

    It is warm here as well…bright and sunny. Have a safe trip my friend. Blessings

    Like

  2. I love a fresh manicure and pedicure, too… although I rarely get them at the same time. I usually have them done on a lunch hour and just can’t do them both in an hour.

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend a way. To me, a weekend road trip is perfect. Gone long enough to decompress but not so long that you have to do a ton of work to get ready to go! (Maybe it’s just church secretaries that have to do that?)

    I smiled when I saw you are having baked beans and fried potatoes with kraut. That is what I always serve with kraut, too.

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

