Book Review

Harry Potter #5 book review

2Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

by J. K. Rowling

870 pages.  Probably 500 pages longer than necessary!

This is my first time reading this series.  I must say that I am enjoying the it but I feel that the writer gets way too detailed as each book goes on.  I think she may be “assuming” that someone didn’t read the books prior to this one.  You could easily pick up book five and never have read the previous four and not really feel lost.

Harry is in his fifth year at Hogwarts school of magic.  Every year Harry seems to find out a little more about what happened to his parents and the mysterious scar on his forehead.  In this year there seem to be many secrets kept from Harry but all for good reason.  Harry continues to fight Lord Valdemort and the battle will continue in book six, The Half Blood Prince.

The Order of the Phoenix is a group of wizards and witches that are good and are constantly guarding Harry from deatheaters or the dark lord whether he knows it or not.  We discover that the reason Harry must return to the Dursley’s every summer has to do with the “deal” that was made to keep Harry safe from the dark lord.  At least once a year he must go back to the family of his mother, who gave her life for him to keep that safety.

Yes, I have seen the movies but I don’t recall seeing this one.  Probably because I was up and down during the movie taking care of laundry or dinner!  Anyway, I picked up the next book at the library yesterday.  I’ll start it pretty soon.  I like the series but I’m looking forward to having this one done.  I want to move on to spontaneous reading.

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter #5 book review”

  1. I completely get the feeling of wanting to move on to spontaneous reading. I have a whole spate of books due at the libary soon, and while I’m enjoying reading them, I’m eager to be able to pick up whichever book I prefer – instead of the one that’s due next!

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

