Daybook

The Simple Woman’s Daybook August 16, 2016

For Today

I am joining Peggy and friends to share my daybook.  Hope you will jump over and see what it’s all about.  You can go here to get the guidelines for posting a daybook.

simple-woman-daybook-large

Looking out my window…cloudy and still some rain lingering around.  Supposed to warm up today but not as HOT as it has been.  Yesterday was only 75*!  LOVED it!

I am thinking…That time gets away from me so quickly these days.

I am thankful…that school has started!  Our son was starting to get board.

One of my favorite things…a quiet rainy day.

I am wearing…black leggings, long blouse, and black heels.

I am creating…I’m still working on my scarf.  It’s been a couple weeks since I have been able to pick it up.  Can’t sit still that long and I’ve been running late for work (not late but no time to knit before hand).

I am reading…Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollow and 1001 Arabian Nights.

I’m listening to…The Apostle by John Pollock

I am hoping…to get the medical history from the doctor this week.  I really need to get this paperwork turned in.  I really don’t like delays. (Oh that crazy patience thing again!)

I am learning…to multi-task in grand fashion! 😉  I have always had more than one thing going on but I went through a phase of simplifying my life that caused me to get rather laid back.  Now that things have picked up that are beyond  my control I am having to learn to do many things at once again.  Not really as good at it as I once was.  Is it because I am getting older?

In my kitchen

Monday – Meatloaf, sweet potatoes, and green beans

Tuesday – Lasagna with salad

Wednesday – BBQ Pork steaks, Hawaiian macaroni salad, baked beans

Thursday – Polish sausage, kraut, fried potatoes, and corn bread

Friday – Leftovers

Saturday – Pizza

Sunday – Fish sticks, Fries, and Mac & Cheese (missed this one last week)

Around the homestead (in place of the school room)…We had our usual vet come out on Tuesday last week.  He said our cow has had something called Hardware disease.  She swallowed a piece of metal sometime in her life and it has affected her heart which caused the pneumonia.  There was nothing that could be done for her but put her out of her misery.  The hardest thing we’ve ever had to do as homesteaders.  Dig a hole and shoot her! I cried for hours and my husband turned into a meanie!  Men deal with that type of grief differently than women.

In my garden…Our flowers are looking really good with all the rain.  I haven’t had to water for a long time.

Shared Quote…This is what I would really like to do!

th-12

A moment from my day Closing Notes: School has started for the last time for my young man.  He is a senior in high school and if all goes well will be leaving for the Air Force next summer.  I think I am ready for “empty nest” but then I have days when I am a total basket case.  As in dealing with the multi-tasking that I used to do so well.  Maybe I am just not in the frame of mind… Awe well, that is where I’m at right now.  Trying to savor every moment.

5 thoughts on “The Simple Woman’s Daybook August 16, 2016”

  1. We had lasagna last night. Great minds think alike. 🙂

    I hear you about the multi-tasking thing! I have to write everything down and I will still forget. For instance, I was in Cape Girardeau last night to accomplish 4 things. Only 3 got done … because I forgot to look at my list!

    Empty nest for me turned out not to be so empty because the kids live in my town and are over all the time. But I do like when they all go home. *wink. (Oh, did I say that out loud?)

    Good to see you blogging again!

    Like

  2. Monica, I am so sorry to hear about you having to have the cow put down. It is the merciful thing to do but it so sad nonetheless. I hope all turns out well for your son this year and that he enjoys his last year of high school and then is able to enter the Air Force. I can understand how you must be feeling.

    Like

  3. Hi Monica, so good to see you back to blogging (and inspiring me to pick it up again too!) Oh dear – the cow. I’m so sorry. Raising animals is hard on a tender heart! And it’s so bittersweet as our kids grow up and launch – of course that what we ultimately want, and what we’re preparing for, but still hard! Hope your son gets accepted by the AF!
    Julie

    Like

  4. So sorry about your cow! So hard.

    Paperwork can be such a pain – hope everything can get together for the military soon.

    It’s hard when kids move out – our lives have been wrapped around theirs for all of their lives, and for that to suddenly change takes some adjustment.

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

