Daybook

The Simple Woman’s Daybook August 23, 2016

For Today

I am joining Peggy and friends to share my daybook.  Hope you will jump over and see what it’s all about.  You can go here to get the guidelines for posting a daybook.

simple-woman-daybook-large

Looking out my window…It’s still dark but it’s a beautiful 61*.  This week has felt so much like fall!  I sat on the front porch with my coffee while our little dog did his business! 🙂  Was very nice!

I am thinking…about our son’s application.  We requested his five years of his medical history almost two weeks ago and we still don’t have it.  Don’t they realize that they are holding up a very important process?!

I am thankful…for our middle daughter.  She’s such a sweet, intelligent, funny, active young lady.  She will make someone a wonderful wife someday!

One of my favorite things…taking a day off in the middle of the week!

I am wearing…blue jeans, work related t-shirt, and tennis shoes (dressing down this week I guess).

I am creating…a month of menus!

I am reading…Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollow and 1001 Arabian Nights.

I’m listening to…The Apostle by John Pollock and Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

I am hoping…a colorful fall!  With the amount of rain we have had so far this year I am confident it will be a vibrant year!

I am learning…that what I say to a doctor may not always stay with that doctor… 😦

In my kitchen

Monday – Lasagna with salad (missed this one last week)

Tuesday – Bacon, eggs, pancakes

Wednesday – Fish sticks, Fries, and Mac & Cheese (missed this one too)

Thursday – Pork cutlet, mash potatoes with milk gravy, and corn

Friday – Pizza

Saturday – Leftovers

Sunday – Grilled chicken with grilled veggies

Around the homestead (in place of the school room)…This week we will move the cows home from the summer pasture.  We have a heifer that we need to put with the bull.  She was too young in the spring and was pretty small.  We’ve been feeding her grain with the feeder steer so she would be ready now.  She looks good!  I think she will make a great mother… for someone else! (keep in mind our goal to sell out…)

In my garden…As you may have noticed, I did not put one out this year.  I’m kind of torn about it. I’ve enjoyed not having to week and water, pick and can every week.  But I have missed not having the fresh cucumbers, cilantro, and tomatoes.  I may do a small scale garden next year.

Shared Quote

thCAAY2H8P

A moment from my day Closing Notes: I’ve been trying to get around to reading more blog posts.  It’s been very sporadic!  But I’m showing some improvement! 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Simple Woman’s Daybook August 23, 2016”

  1. Let me just say….what you tell your doctor is no longer confidential thanks to Obamacare…they can even ask such invasive questions such as gun ownership now. Second, perhaps there is a reason that the good Lord isn’t sharing with you why the medical papers aren’t here yet, smiles…try looking at it that way, {more smiles.}

    Always enjoy your posts sweet friend.

    Like

  2. It was a little cooler today- such a relief! I’m sorry the doctor’s office is taking so long. Maybe calling them again (and again) would help? They probably just get busy with the day’s work and just don’t “get around to it.”

    Like

  3. shame on that doctor, there is supposed to be patient confidentiality. I am wearing jeans and loving it. We walked the past two days after dinner and it was a bit chilly!!! that felt awesome. Now keep in mind that it was in the 70s but that felt cold after the heat wave. Which is returning unfortunately.

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

