Weekly Review

Week In Review – #14

week-in-reviewWorkout/Health: There has been none this week!

Around the farm: Last weekend we had a cattle buyer come by to see if he would be interested in our cows… That was depressing.  With Obama opening up the boarders not only to emigrants but also to the cattle market, our market is in the tank.  Bred cows that sold last year for $2300 are now only worth $700.  And if they aren’t far along in their pregnancy, they will abort and slaughter the cow.  Obama is out to ruin the small farmer.

Saturday our son had his Senior pictures taken.  I can’t wait to see them.  He did a great job.

Weather: Fall is here for real.  I love these cooler colorful days.  It has been in the low to mid 70’s every day and upper 40’s over night.  I want to light a bonfire and enjoy being outside!

Knitting: not much

Reading:  audio only…

NOW onto the real juice of the week… Grandma fell Monday evening.  Knocked herself out cold.  We went by ambulance to the hospital.  They sent us into St. Louis because the CT showed a floating fracture in her neck.

In the wee hours of the morning on Tuesday they determine it was an old wound that had calcified and was not threat.  Many tests done on Tuesday and I brought her home on Tuesday evening.

She needs a lot of care so I pay someone to come through the day while I work.  Home health set up a vitals stations so I only have to “hook” her up in the mornings and all her vitals are sent to St. Louis to a nurse.  I have to bathe her, fix all her meals, and give her meds..

It’s been a long week to say the least.  So sorry I have been absent from blog land.  I hope I can keep up with my new life.  It sure has changed in the matter of a few weeks!

God bless you all and I will post and comment whenever I can.

5 thoughts on “Week In Review – #14”

  1. Wow – I had no idea about the cattle market. That’s awful. I’m so sorry about your grandmother’s fall! I’m glad she didn’t break anything, but I am sure that must have shaken everyone up pretty seriously.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I’m with Barbara…I had no idea…no wonder you want to sell (and then why is beef prices up????don’t make sense—argh). I am glad your grandmother didn’t break anything. Sending you lots of love and hugs.

    Like

  3. I am so sorry to hear about your grandmother, Monica. Bless her heart…and yours, for all of the added responsibility this puts on your shoulders. You are in my prayers.

    Farming has never been easy or profitable, but in these times in which we live it truly is disheartening to see how the small man is being forced out. I think of the farmers who are having to sell out what has been in their family for many years and how hard that must be. I saw the picture you shared yesterday for Friday Foto or a few of your cattle. Oh my! The one in the forefront and to the left of the photo is especially beautiful. I’m so glad that the man is buying them all.

    Like

  4. Oh, Monica, I am so sorry to hear of your Grandmother’s fall and that it wasn’t a fresh break. I’m glad home health is coming in and that you found someone to be with her during the day. I can understand how tired you must be. I’m certainly praying for you and the family. I didn’t realize about the fall in the cattle market prices. I’ve always admired the farmer and it upsets me to see what has happened as big corporations and the like seem to be taking over. I hope you share a photo or two of your son’s senior photos. Always an exciting time! Hugs

    Like

  5. Sorry to hear of more curves in your life journey! Keep pressing on, dear sister. God has wonderful things in store for His children. Remember He promises to never leave or forsake you.

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

