Book Review

The Lotus Eaters – Review

7133965The Lotus Eaters by Tatjana Soli

389 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction

“A unique and sweeping debut novel of an American female combat photographer in the Vietnam War, as she captures the wrenching chaos and finds herself torn between the love of two men.

Tatjana Soli paints a searing portrait of an American woman’s struggle and triumph in Vietnam, a stirring canvas contrasting the wrenching horror of war and the treacherous narcotic of obsession with the redemptive power of love. Readers will be transfixed by this stunning novel of passion, duty and ambition among the ruins of war.” (Goodreads)

I’m sure there were many tales from Vietnam similar to this one by Ms. Soli.  I was but a child during this war and what I have heard, we really had no business there.  Whatever my thoughts and feelings on this war the book really is more of a love triangle that occurred between photographers.  The language was harsh for the most part but then again every single book or movie made about war time has extremely bad language.

I wouldn’t say it was a particularly good book but it wasn’t bad either.  After all I did finish it.  I don’t think that I will choose any more books about war time because I did cringe every time they cursing started up.

Helen Adams is a young American woman who sets out to doing something “meaningful”.  You know the kind portrayed in most movies and books of the era, wanting to make a difference in this war.  She falls in love with a married man and has relations with him.  When he is killed in combat she becomes aware of her feelings for his assistant, a Vietnam man named Linh.  Throughout most of the story I was thinking that “this young lady is very messed up”.

This is not a book I would recommend for younger readers.  Harsh language is mostly the reasoning.  There isn’t much in the way of graphic details (that I remember anyway).

2 thoughts on “The Lotus Eaters – Review”

  1. I would have a hard time with that much bad language, too. I don’t think I have ever read anything from the Vietnam War. I was just thinking recently that there is a lot about WWII, some about WWI, but I don’t remember seeing anything about the Korean conflict (that’s the only one my dad would have been part of.) I knew there were books out there about Viet Nam but just have never come across them. It was a controversial time for sure.

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

