Daybook

The Simple Woman’s Daybook October 18, 2016

For Today

I am joining Peggy and friends to share my daybook.  Hope you will jump over and see what it’s all about.  You can go here to get the guidelines for posting a daybook.

simple-woman-daybook-large

Looking out my window…It’s still dark and the full moon is shining bright.  Gorgeous morning!

I am thinking…No matter where my girls are in their life, they know I am here if they ever need me.

I am thankful…for the peace that I am beginning to have where they are concerned.

One of my favorite things…walking through the woods in the fall.

Looking forward to…being settled in a new routine.

I am wearing…taupe color dress with brown wedges, turquoise jewelry.

I am creating…a guest area.  Complete with “on suite”. Pictures to come later.

I am reading…1001 Arabian Nights and The Cottage by Michael Phillips

I’m listening to…Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks

I am hoping…that my girls will come around soon.

I am learning…sometimes we just have to learn the lessons the hard way.

In my kitchen…it’s hard to meal plan when it is just grandma and our son… I’m still not eating a lot of the things that I fix for them.

Monday – Grandma and I will have some leftover vegetable beef soup

Tuesday – Meatloaf

Wednesday – Ravioli casserole

Thursday – Oven BBQ Chicken legs, baked sweet potatoes, and green beans

Friday – Leftovers

Saturday – Pizza

Sunday – Baked fish with rice and broccoli

Around the homestead (in place of the school room)…The pastures seem very bare without the cattle.  The sounds are quite different without the crows of our rooster.  Things have changed around here.  It’s going to take some getting used to.  Not sure what I will share in place of the homestead…

In my garden yard…the leaves are beginning to fall and blow across the yard.  Soon I will be “vacuuming” them up and dumping them in the woods.  Hubby and I planted some new shrubs out in the front of the house.  Put some pumpkins in place for fall decorations and that’s about it.

Shared Quote… a little humor this morning.

funny

A moment from my day Closing Notes: If things don’t stop changing I won’t even know my name by the end of the month! 🙂   I will be changing up my Daybook post to reflect some of these changes.

6 thoughts on “The Simple Woman’s Daybook October 18, 2016”

  1. Good morning, Monica,

    I love the humor this morning!

    I’m really glad that you are beginning to get some peace over your current changes where your girls are concerned. I’ve been praying for you and will continue to do so.

    I’m also praying for your grandmother. I’m so thankful that she is with you because she will get the very best care that is possible with you around.

    Praying for you, also, where the changes around the homestead are concerned. I didn’t realize that your chickens were gone, too. I’d miss them and hearing and seeing the cattle in the fields. I was raised on a dairy farm.

    Looking forward to pictures of your new guest area you are creating! I know it will be really nice.

    Hope you are having a good day today. (((hugs))) Dianna

    Like

  2. I’m praying that your daughters will contact you soon and you can talk out things. I can imagine after all the years of cattle and animals how different it must feel. I hope these new changes are good ones. Have a blessed day.

    Like

  3. I’m thankful for the pace you’re experiencing about your girls and pray they do come around soon. Sometimes all we can do is try to keep the lines of communication open and let them know we love them.

    It must seem so different without the animals. How fun to have a new room to decorate! When we sometimes end up with just my husband and I for dinner, we often get something out, but once our nest is truly empty I know we can’t do that every night. A Taste of Home used to have a magazine called Cooking for One or Two that I just loved and collected a few recipes from, but sadly they discontinued it.

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

