Nightstand

What’s On Your Nightstand? – May 2017

This is one of my favorite link ups that I have always taken part in.  I couldn’t not blog and read and not join in with everyone at 5 Minutes for Books.  It occurs the last Tuesday of every month.  You share what you have been reading, what is still hanging out on your nightstand, and what you plan to read if you like.  I hope to get better with actual books.  I’ve been doing a lot of audio books lately because I am always doing something else.  Like knitting or coloring, pattern searching, planning…

For the month of May I have listened to:

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien.  It was a very animated audio version so it kept me entertained while driving to and from work.  I have seen the movies but enjoyed the reading nonetheless.

Flight of the Sparrow by Amy Belding Brown  Some of this was hard to listen to but then it was a liberating story!

Still Alice by Lisa Genova  A story about a middle aged Harvard Professor who develops Alzheimer’s. She believes at first she is starting to go through menopause but after testing she is diagnosed with this awful disease.

I have read:

The Gifts of Imperfection by Berne Brown.  This one took me some time as it was a serious matter to me.  In my quest to “Find Me” this has been wonderful in helping me to let go of what everyone expected me to be or do or think or say… you get the point I’m sure.
I would recommend this for everyone.  It’s enlightening to say the least.
 The Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler about a grieving widower who is an editor at a family publishing house adds to a series of books they put out for Beginner’s at everything… You know like knitting for dummies… same concept.
What I am currently reading/listening to:
This is another one that may take me some time.
A light read to go along with my deeper read (above selection)
What’s hanging out on my nightstand?

The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey

The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

One Million Page Challenge update:

May: 1,464

Year to date: 10,406

Challenge to date: 80,228

 

 

6 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand? – May 2017”

  1. Well right now I am teaching a Bible Study so the book of Ruth is on my nightstand. But I do have a couple of books I am wanting to take the time to read. Thanks for visiting me today. Hugs and blessings, Cindy

    Like

  2. I finally read all the LOTR books a year or so ago and loved them. I’d seen the movies, but never fully understood them. ha. But I rewatched them after reading each book, and voila, they all made sense. 🙂 I keep hearing good things about Still Alice, but I’m not ready to read it yet since one of my biggest fears is getting Alzheimer’s. Loved The Gifts of Imperfection! (or really, anything by Brene Brown). Thanks for sharing your list, Monica.

    Like

    1. I felt the same way about LOTR! 🙂 Still Alice was an AMAZING read! I too have those fears as it is in my family. Brene Brown is a very down to earth real type lady. I related to every chapter and will be going back through it from time to time. Glad I own it! 🙂

      Like

  3. I just finished Flight of the Sparrow. I enjoyed it throughly! Some parts were a tad hard to read but it was very interesting.
    I will look form the other books you mentioned.
    Have a good weekend!

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

