Nightstand

What’s On Your Nightstand? – June 2017

This is one of my favorite link ups that I have always taken part in.  I couldn’t not blog and read and not join in with everyone at 5 Minutes for Books.  It occurs the last Tuesday of every month.  You share what you have been reading, what is still hanging out on your nightstand, and what you plan to read if you like.  I hope to get better with actual books.  I’ve been doing a lot of audio books lately because I am always doing something else.  Like knitting or coloring, pattern searching, planning…
For the month of May I have listened to:
Was a nice little story.  Oh the innocense of children is so refreshing these days!
I wasn’t really impressed with this one.  It made be somewhat paranoid; like everyone around me is “controlling me”!
I had never heard of this one before.  It was a good little read about good and evil.

I’m still reading (but almost done):

 Taking me longer than I had hoped but it’s awesome.  I am giving it to everyone I know that has little boys! First my daughter with two step son’s.
This one will take a long time.  I read it on my lunch break at work and that is it.
What I am currently reading/listening to:
 A (Christian) co-worker said he loved John Grisham books.  I had never read one so I thought I would give it a shot.  It’s a very detailed story to say the least.  I sometimes drift off with some of the details.
What’s hanging out on my nightstand?
I’m on a Non-Fiction kick right now.  My soul and brain are so thirsty!

Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul by John Eldredge (can’t wait to get to this one)

The Journey of Desire: Searching for the Life We Always Dreamed of by John Eldredge

Solitude: In Pursuit of a Singular Life in a Crowded World by Michael Harris (put this one on hold at the library, I’m that excited about it)

 

One Million Page Challenge update:

June: 1024

Year to date: 11,430

Challenge to date: 81,252

Hope you are enjoying a Summer full of reading time!

4 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand? – June 2017”

  1. I’m reading a lot of mystery books…awaiting Leslie Meier books to come in from the library (you can place holds on books from online). Have a great day…and de-stress my friend. smiles

    Like

  2. I’ve wondered about trying Grisham – I know a lot of people like him, but I am wary of modern fiction, since it so often contains bad words and scenes. I look forward to hearing what you think of it. Solitude sounds interesting.

    Like

    1. There is some language in this book but not a lot. I have found that some classics can be just as shocking as current novels. This is my first Grisham novel and I am finding his detail a little tiresome… It’s written kind of like a classic (you know, before television when peopel hadn’t seen a scene played out before). I don’t know that I’ll read another but I wanted to check him out.

      Like

  3. I wanted to get started with 5 Minutes with Books this month but it just slipped up on me so I’ll try next month. I like your selection of books. Wild at Heart really spoke to my younger son. It is incredible, I understand. Have a great day!

    Like

I appreciate your thoughts. Please leave them here.

